Who are you riding for?

Every PanOhio Hope Rider has someone that inspires them. How else could you make it from Cleveland to Cincinnati on a bike?

Here’s what some of our riders had to say about why they’re riding:

Bill Draznik, Cincinnati
“My grandmother Lois passed away 10 years ago from pancreatic cancer and I still miss her dearly,” he said. “My grandmother Mary has already beaten ovarian cancer and is now fighting breast cancer. Both of these women have tremendously influenced my life, and I would ride my bike across the world and back for them.”

Stan Moczydlowski, Cincinnati
Moczydlowski (MUH zid Lah skee) used an American Cancer Society support service called Man to Man as he recovered from his struggle with prostate cancer. He also used his bike during that time, increasing his bicycle mileage before prostate surgery and continuing to ride during his recovery.

“I’m riding this year to continue my support of the American Cancer Society,” he said. “I appreciate all the assistance they gave to me in my time of need. I want to give back by enabling the Society to support even more cancer patients in the future.”

Jack Frank, Milford

Frank joined the Hope Ride in 2008 for the chance to ride between the two cities, but he became hooked by the reason behind the ride.

“I discovered an incredible group of volunteers, riders and survivors committed to eliminating cancer and helping families to deal with the disease,” he remembered. “My focus changed from a biking challenge to a challenge of helping others fight cancer. It was four days of incredible emotion, lifelong friends, belly-laughter and beautiful scenery. I now see myself as being a Society volunteer for life.”

Alan Weinstein, Milford

“In 2005, I lost my mother-in-law, Doris Floyd, to lung cancer,” he said. “With the pain of that loss still fresh, I then lost my own mother, Faith Weinstein, to pancreatic cancer in 2006. Faced with such losses, I didn’t know what to do, but I knew that I wanted to do something to fight against cancer and support families experiencing similar battles. The Pan Ohio Hope Ride has provided me with the perfect vehicle, literally, to actively fight that fight.”

Leave a Reply

